Lanuza, Surigao Del Sur
Lanuza, Surigao Del Sur

Lanuza is a fourth class municipality in the province of Surigao del Sur, Philippines. According to the 2015 census, it has a population of 12,001 people.

Lanuza is politically subdivided into 13 barangays. In 1956, the sitio of Antao was converted into a barrio.

  • Agsam
  • Bocawe
  • Bunga
  • Gamuton
  • Habag
  • Mampi
  • Nurcia
  • Pakwan
  • Sibahay
  • Zone I (Pob.)
  • Zone II (Pob.)
  • Zone III (Pob.)
  • Zone IV (Pob.)

On December 10, 1918, Executive Order No. 52 of American Governor General Francis Burton Harrison that was signed by Charles Yeater, divided Cantilan into three parts – Carrascal, present-day Cantilan and Lanuza. Now it is part of the settlement area called Carcanmadcarlan.

Population census of Lanuza
Year Pop. ±% p.a.
1990 9,051
1995 8,843 −0.43%
2000 10,057 +2.80%
2007 10,788 +0.97%
2010 11,857 +3.50%
2015 12,001 +0.23%
Source: Philippine Statistics Authority

Lanuza belongs to the economic zone of Cantilan, one of the major economic zones of Surigao del Sur. Business opportunity is mainly dependent on agriculture, fishing, and eco-tourism. Lanuza was awarded a “clean and green” municipality title of the Caraga Region.

For telecommunication there are six cell sites operated by Smart Communications and Globe Telecom that cover the whole area of CarCanMadCarLan (Carrascal, Cantilan, Madrid, Carmen and Lanuza).

Two cable TV providers operate in Cantilan, Carrascal and Madrid. Cantilan has broadband internet with a number of internet cafes. The municipal building in Lanuza has a satellite connection, soon this will be extended to the school and may be offered as an internet cafe in the evenings.

Lanuza is noted as a surfing destination with its various surfing areas from Reef Breaks to Beach Breaks. Surfing season is between the months of November to March where big waves are in constant motion.